Many of our members are Nobel Laureates, arguably the most prestigious international award one can receive. Membership is for life.

Membership is extended to both men and women, graduate and undergraduate students. Alpha Chi Sigma has also a professional branch, which includes members of Alpha Chi Sigma who are not on membership roll of a collegiate chapter. Professional candidates can become members of the Professional Branch even after they have completed their studies.

If you are interested in becoming a member and undergoing the pledge process, please visit our Recruitment page or email

For Members of the Beta Iota Chapter initiated since Spring 2014, visit our Members page.

For Current Officers and their contact information, visit our Officers page



Notable Members of Alpha Chi Sigma

Glenn T. Seaborg

  • Beta Gamma 1935
  • Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1951

Linus C. Pauling

  • Sigma 1940
  • Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1954
  • Nobel Peace Prize 1962

Mary L. Good

  • Beta Phi 1976
  • American Chemical Society President 1987
  • National Science Foundation Chair 1988-1991